MACRA stands for Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act. It was signed by President Obama in 2015. It combined a few different Medicare programs into one called the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS).

MIPS is a program that allows the following group of Eligible Professionals (EPs) to get Medicaid “payment bonuses” based on quality, resource use, clinical practice improvements, and using certain certified electronic health record technology.

  • Physicians
  • Physician Assistants
  • Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists
  • Nurse Practitioners
  • Clinical Nurse Specialists
  • Groups that include such professionals

To be eligible for these financial incentives, EPs must have a security risk assessment performed. Cyberstone offers both a “micro” risk assessment for smaller EPs and a comprehensive one designed for larger EPs.

For more information, see